Little Changes, Big Results

Even though my sleeve surgery won’t be for a few more weeks–I am guessing it will happen the last week of August or the first week of September–I am already making changes to my diet.

As a foodie, one of the things I know about myself is too much of the same flavor and texture too often bores me.  Since I know that, I can increase my chances for success by making for sleeve-friendly change-ups now.  I am not a big carb eater but I am also restricting my carbs too.

Yesterday I took some time to search for some recipes.  I looked for ones that will help me transform current favorite foods to post-op approved choices.  Plus, I am using this time to try a few new things.

This morning I tried coconut milk for the first time.  I cooked some oatmeal in it.  It was delicious!  I used 1/2c of oats, 1/2c of coconut milk, 1/2c water.  When it was cooked, I sprinkled 2tsps of brown sugar and 1tbsp of silvered almonds on top.  The extra creamy, rich texture of coconut milk really takes oatmeal to a new level.  It was decadent!  I also could not finish it all!  I was shocked!  I tried it with oatmeal because it is one of my go-to breakfasts especially when I am writing.  It keeps me satisfied for a good long time so I can keep my creative juices flowing.  This was a good healthy breakfast that can transition through all phases of this journey.  Score one for me!  Next time, I am adding some protein powder for extra oomph!

Yesterday I bought light agave nectar for the first time.  The light type tastes similar to honey but is a lot more subtle.  The texture is runnier than honey.  I tried it in my coffee this morning and it was okay…not bad okay…just not used to it okay.  I’ll do it again because I only needed a scant teaspoon–and yes I did measure it–to sweeten my 10oz mug o’ java which means I cut the sweet calories by more than half.  The agave did not have that weird after taste like Stevia or the artificial sweeteners I try to avoid like the plague.

For my last cuppa of the morning, I thought I would really go wild and add a scoop of vanilla protein powder.  My son tried it a few months back and said it was okay but I have been chicken.  The texture is different–it is thicker and along the lines of a Slim Fast shake.  I did not get a big vanilla hit it so that was disappointing.  It would be easy to add a drop or two of vanilla extract to kick it up a notch though.  The weirdest thing about it is feeling a sense of fullness from a cup of coffee.

Mostly the tweaks were a success.

Now, I have a whole stack of new recipes from Pizza with a Cauliflower Parmesan Crust to Avocado Egg Salad–honestly I don’t know which one scares me more!!  They both incorporate foods and flavors I already love but the combinations are definitely out of my wheelhouse.  I am also going to try tofu for the first time in a cool Tofu Parmigiana which looks a lot like a noodle-less, saucy, cheesey lasagna.  If it tastes half as good as the picture looks, I am sure I’ll like it.

The most important part of this whole journey is teaching myself to make high protein food choices a priority.   Big flavors, small portions.

PS>>>>>>>>>>>Since posting, I tried the Cauliflower Pizza Crust…It’s a keeper!!!  WOOT WOOT!!!!

Leave a Reply

