To Thine Ownself Be True

This week has been a curious exercise in getting to know online support groups. As a fibromyalgia patient I am well aware there are good groups and bad groups just as there are good people and bad people. So far this week I have been told by already the already sleeved: I’m going to die, having goals is unrealistic but the funniest one of all was someone telling me I have a bad attitude because I don’t drink enough water.

Sigh.

At this very moment, I can only guess of what life on my sleeve is really going to be like. As I have read the experiences of others, I think I am getting a pretty good idea. I am even sure that for all my preparation there will be some surprises that’s okay. I know I’ll deal with them as they happen so I can figure out how to be successful. It’s part of the journey–and I am embracing it!

The negative comments have done something really positive.  They have helped me remember who I am and who I want to be after my sleeve are really the same person…only a few sizes smaller.

Here’s what I have decided so far:

  1. I trust my body to talk to me and my mind to listen and respond.
  2. To every extent possible I will consume only natural sugars.
  3. I will practice clean eating habits.
  4. I will move forward with confidence.
  5. Whole food is my friend.
  6. Fiber!  It keeps me happy and satisfied.
  7. Health is more important than any numerical measure of my progress.
  8. Discipline and sacrifice have different meanings.
  9. Tools plus work equal success!
  10. My mind, when made up, can accomplish anything!

It has been a long day and I still do not understand why people have to be so mean.  But, I also know it is something I am never going to understand.

I have absolutely decided to ask as few questions as possible to avoid negative and/or ill-informed answers because they bother me.  This is my journey and I am going to give it my 110-percent.  At the end of the day, I am going to have to live with every single choice I make.  I am going to make good choices.  I am going to have a healthy life.

Leave a Reply

