Weekly Results And A Recipe, CI#20

If you are not familiar with carb cycling let me explain the slingshot week is six consecutive high carb days and one reward day.  In other words, it tends to add a few pounds.  Yes, it is true carbs help you retain water partially because they are mostly water–yes, even the dry, crunchy ones like crackers.  Now that I have helped you understand that you will understand why I am up .4 pound but down another 3.25 inches.

That means for January I lost 9.5 inches and 3.2 pounds. 

Just so we are clear…I never adjust my results or count the “gain” of slingshot week unless I do not lose it the following week.  Four-tenths of a pound is nothing so I am confident it will be gone before Tuesday…another beauty of carb cycling.  One day of low carb is usually all I need to banish the fake gain of a slingshot week.

On to the recipe…here’s what Black Bean Brownies look like (and I am so glad I made the video earlier because now my hair’s a mess after watching that game…lol…stupid Superbowl)

From My San Francisco Kitchen:

Black Bean Brownies

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained (15½ oz)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • ¼ cup and 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ⅛ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Semi-sweet chocolate chips for topping (optional)

 

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Add all ingredients to a blender and blend on low until all ingredients are well blended (there should not be any whole black beans in the batter!).
  • Lightly grease an 8×8 baking dish and pour batter inside.
  • Top with chocolate chips or nuts if desired.
  • Bake for 25 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean after inserting in the center.
  • Cool for 30 minutes before cutting and serving (otherwise they will fall apart).
Makes 9 brownies
This is her recipe on her website.  I made the following modifications 1/4c coconut sugar and 1/4c granulated sugar and 1tsp cinnamon.  I also omitted the chocolate chips.  Where she says to add all ingredients to the blender I prefer to blend the beans and oil until smooth and then add the other ingredients.  In my Ninja the blades heat up too much to whip the beans until smooth.  The texture is so much nicer by pre-blending the beans.  This recipe makes a more cakey than fudgey brownie.  I have tried a couple other recipes that yield a fudgey brownie but not with consistent results.  When I find one I will share it for all you fudge lovers like me.
With my modifications each brownie has 115 calories, 15g carbs w/3g fiber, 2.5g protein, and 5.5g fat.
So far, I’ve only eaten one and a half of these yummy, chocolatey squares 🙂  I really love them!
The best gluten-free recipe EVER!!
And…I will save them for breakfast…yeah, you heard me….BREAKFAST.  With those nutritionals, I do not mind having one in the morning.  I really like them on low carb days because they are a lower carb, and gluten-free, option than most other smart carbs.  With the modifications I used, they also have a lower GI profile than the original recipe so I do not have to worry about blood sugar spikes in the morning.  Plus, the chocolate…some times a girl needs chocolate for breakfast 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

