Just Do It, CI#36

It is my favorite advertising slogan of all time.

Just Do It.

In my opinion, it should be the official slogan of fibro, and other, disabled people.

Up until the last six months or so I have been in up to two dozen “support groups” and I inevitably see posts a couple of times a week where a patient will rant about her or his doctor suggesting exercise.  Those rants are never pretty.  The truth is they are mostly a whole bunch of non-movers enabling someone else to become a non-mover too.

So here’s a harsh truth I’ve been fibro-slapped for numerous times, fibro is not going to kill you no matter how much it hurts but inactivity especially if it accompanied by obesity and/or diabetes is certain death. 

The truth is bodies…ALL BODIES…are made to move.  Fibromyalgia is NOT a free pass to a movement free life.  

JUST DO IT!!!!!!!

Yes, I know it is hard but you literally have your life in your hands…err sneakers.

The great thing….yes, I said GREAT…is fibro bodies do not need to move as much or an intensely as normal bodies to see positive benefits.  Don’t believe me?  Check out these articles.  They are what I based my health reclamation plan on:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0012313/

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3165132/

 

My personal experience echoes the results of these studies.  Plus, I do NOT…N-O-T…know a single person who is managing their fibromyalgia symptoms well who is not a regular mover.

JUST DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!

I started with increasing my ability to handle functional movement such as cleaning or grocery shopping because I already knew every movement counts so I needed to make those movements things I could do without help, most of the time.  Honestly it took nearly three years to figure out how to accomplish activities of daily living with far less pain than when I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia.  Can I get through the grocery store 100-percent of the time without piles of extra pain?  No.  BUT…the extra pain has become the exception rather than the rule.  Once I felt I had those things licked I moved on to less functional movement and toward muscle preserving, flexibility increasing, and cardiovascular strengthening movement–what you might think of as exercise, in the traditional sense.  The phrase “low and slow” often appears in the literature about fibromyalgia and exercise but for some reason we, as patients, and our doctors gloss over this very crucial element to any plan to exercise with fibromyalgia.  Depending on your personal situation, you may need to start with one, single minute.

Really!

One minute…if that is all your body will allow the work within that limit until you can build to two minutes…no matter how long it takes.  Expect it to take time.  How much, I cannot tell you because each of us is so different but I can promise you if you will be faithful to whatever tiny number you start with it WILL make a difference.

JUST. DO. IT.

Your life, the length and quality thereof, depends on it.

Just.

Do.

It.

Besides, if you are trying to lose weight with fibromyalgia you cannot escape the need to exercise.

If it helps invest in some Nikes to remind you to keep those toes moving.  But these Nikes have a special purpose I will tell you about later.

😀new kicks

 

 

One thought on “Just Do It, CI#36

Leave a Reply

