Week 8–Part Two–Late, I Know

Yes, I know…it’s the Tuesday after Week 8.  I am well aware I assure you.  If you know me at all you know I am NEVER two days late publishing a post in a planned series.

Never.

Well, as they say, “There is a first time for everything.”

So here’s the deets…

As you know I quit my job two and a half weeks ago after my boss decided it would be super cool to talk down to me like I’m slow.  Of course, that is not the only reason.  Quitting has been long coming.  Our plan was to at least wait until after our cruise.  Anyway, that obviously did not happen.  Me quitting also left a huge gaping hole in our already meager finances so my hubs started delivering The Wall Street Journal.  I have been out every day since last Wednesday helping him learn his route.

3 a.m.3 a.m. wake up calls.

Do you know what 3 a.m. wake up calls do to a chronic body?

In case you’re a normal person, one early day can send a chronic body into a symptom-filled tailspin that can last for days, weeks, and even months.

If you’re a chronic kid, then you’re thinking I’m totally insane for being willing to wake up on purpose at that time.  It’s cool.  My man supports me so I support him.  I know many of you would say “I can’t do that because I have ___” and that’s cool for you but for me I need to live, to THRIVE even if it means a whacked out body for a few days.

Thankfully, fibro decided to play nice, mostly. I have that ‘punched’ feeling on my arms and shoulders and the allodynia–hyper-sensitive skin–is more active than normal but otherwise it has been nothing too far above my normal baseline.

But the vein in my left leg which was damaged by a fall about eight years ago, not so much.  If I sit too long, blood flow is compromised and can even result in a blood clot.  It is part of why I am so adamant about moving.  That struggling vein actually helped me realize hour-long treks to the gym were not as beneficial to my fibro body as periodic movement throughout the day.  Hubs’ route takes about three hours.  Damaged veins do not like to hold still for three hours.  Damaged veins do not sit in cars for three hours.  As a result, I am having some numbness, tingling, swelling, and pain but not blood clot type pain.  Actually the experience has been a good practice run for traveling to California for our cruise.  We’ve had my car about a year but we’ve never taken a long road trip.  I am glad I decided to put myself out to help him because now I know exactly how riding in this car is going to hurt me.  Better I find out now than 10 days from now.

Umm, holy cannoli….TEN DAYS!!!

Ten days from right now I’ll be figuring out how I’m going to fall asleep knowing we leave on day eleven.

Squeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

Pardon my little reality check.

Back to last week.

Let’s see 3 a.m. wake up calls also threw off my thyroid meds and my eating schedule in addition to a wonky sleep pattern of two ‘naps’ of about five hours each.  My leg is also puffy.  By Sunday morning, I’d settled back to where I was the week before (but now I’m back up again).  In other words, last week’s plans didn’t go according to plan.

Are you noticing this theme in my life?  I am.

I’m not quite sure what to make of it.

I think I have decided this past week was just an anomaly, a unique situation.

It’s also been raining buckets so my walking has taken a serious fall off the curb.

Week 8 was not the week I was hoping for or the one I set myself up to have.  And, I’m okay with that.

Life happens.

2 thoughts on “Week 8–Part Two–Late, I Know

  1. Now I get the ‘Are you crazy?’ comment about my wandering through Sam’s Club on hard concrete floors for two and a half hours. I thought, ‘But I’m moving. I’m gonna pay for it, but I’m moving.’ Then the weather moved in and I’m still paying for it.
    Life seems to be a series of unexpected events lately. Chronic bodies have a hard time adapting but reading this, I suspect that what you are experiencing is much better than what would be happening if you weren’t so diligent in thriving.
    I can’t wait to hear about your cruise! Pics Darling! I have to live vicariously. 🙂
    I love how you and your hubs are so supportive of each other. It makes me smile.

    • Aww thanks and I am so sorry I’m just responding. I read this and really thought I had responded. I’m sorry love!

      Concrete KILLS (me at least…give me hiking boots and dirt and I can go for HOURS…even good sneakers on concrete can ruin my day and even my week.)

Leave a Reply

