Week 11–At Sea Accountability

Let me start by saying if you ever have a chance to take a cruise JUST DO IT!!!!  I’m going to try to keep this post tightly focused but this is me so forgive me when I ramble about the awesomeness of it all.

For months–and I mean ever since my hubs won the cruise in 2013–I have been psyching myself up for being totally unconnected to BodyBugg and Fitday.com for an entire week.  Internet access is a premium service with a premium price and I was not going to pay for it.  Somewhere along the way I realized it might even be a bit unhealthy to be so reliant on these technologies to keep me on track.  I started to think of how I was going to manage without them.

Then, I stopped.

People have been losing weight for zillions of years without technology and the advances in nutrition science of our digital era.  So I started to let myself wonder how they accomplished it.  Basically, I boiled it all down to knowing when you’re full and moving.balancing

Simple enough.

I had already decided I was using the cruise week as an ultimate reset so I just ate.  If it tasted good, I finished it.  If it didn’t, I became really comfortable with not finishing it just because I put it on my plate.  With the obscene number of options and flavors available I just didn’t see the sense in eating anything that was not delicious.  Coming from a “There are starving children in China” and a “We bought it/you ordered it so now you ‘have to’ eat all” family leaving the food which was unpleasing to my palate is a huge victory.

Life is too short to eat yucky things.  So, I didn’t.

This isn't even the whole buffet!  So many choices.

This isn’t even the whole buffet! So many choices.

Life is also to short to gorge on decadence.  I would like to say I didn’t but then there was Kahlua Rice Pudding.

Over-indulging on that warm bowl of creamy, coffee-y goodness taught me a very valuable lesson: Overeating at sea is not a good idea.

I did not get sick but I was incredibly uncomfortable for several hours.  It’s different from on land because the motion of the ocean keeps your tummy churned up longer anyway.

Kahlua Rice Pudding!  Oh sweet mercy!

Okay see the hand rail just beyond the deck chairs?  That's a small set of stairs down to the Rivera deck.  Just inside the door at the bottom of those stairs was our room. The buffet is the deck above the one the pool is on.  The second story in this picture is smoking area for hubs was up one more deck.  All three flights multiple times a day.  The only time I felt it was an issue was when I tried to do them all at once.

Okay see the hand rail just beyond the deck chairs? That’s a small set of stairs down to the Rivera deck. Just inside the door at the bottom of those stairs was our room. The buffet is the deck above the one the pool is on. The second story in this picture is smoking area for hubs was up one more deck. All three flights multiple times a day. The only time I felt it was an issue was when I tried to do them all at once.

Normally, my body and stairs do not get along so I was prepared for hell.

It did not find me.

First of all each set are only 7-10 steps and most of them have some walking in between flights so they weren’t too stressful.  Secondly, the area of the globe around the equator and the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn are a chronic babe’s ‘golden zone’ because of the temperance of the barometer and temperature so my body felt different from when I am more than a half a mile above sea level at home.  Different was good!

So we walked a lot more than normal which made me ever so glad I walked a lot more than normal before I left.  All my preparations paid off.  I was rewarded with fairly stable symptoms and the ability to feel a lot more normal than chronic.  It was a true vacation.

With all the extra food and the extra walking, how did I do?

I came home two pounds heavier than when I left.

However, I am still retaining the same water as when I left but daily piles of bacon and hidden salt added another layer of puffiness.

Two pounds.

Honestly, I was expecting five or more.

When I say I ate, I’m not kidding.  I almost wish I had taken pictures of at least one meal so I could get an idea of the calories but only because I am confused by my body yet again.  I get the water retention.  It’s not rocket science to know too much salt equals bloat.  However, I am struggling to wrap my head around the number on the scale.

As of this morning I am barely home 48 hours and 1.2 of those pounds is already gone.

One of my long time weight loss sisters had a similar experience while I was gone and she said, “What am I supposed to learn from this?”

“Yeah body, what am I supposed to learn from this?”

I have had to work really hard to pull myself back from the “Why can’t I have a normal body for five minutes” cliff that always leads me to nowhere good or life-affirming.

The cruise was last week.

Now, it’s time to get back to work.

I have sneezed more since yesterday than I have all of the past year combined :(

I have sneezed more since yesterday than I have all of the past year combined 😦

Except…

I now have the head cold from hell so all the great motivation I had built up, all the pep talks to myself about coming home and starting strong are trapped deep in some of the worst sinus congestion I can recall.

Sigh.

“Bodies are wonderful, bodies are wonderful, bodies are wonderful,” I chant between sips of hot water infused with lemon and honey.

The upside is since I can’t taste anything food is yucky and I’m taking little pleasure in eating.  Maybe this cold is the perfect ‘medicine’ for vaulting me back into a world without eight international dishes on every plate followed by three or four petit fours-sized desserts and glasses of the most perfect lemonade I have ever had the pleasure of swallowing.

I ate.

I moved.

I had a great time.

Best of all I did not stress, obsess, or otherwise beat myself up for food, fitness, or my body (more on that later).  I need more of this.

Leave a Reply

