Week 26–Half Full or Half Empty

It’s the 26th week of the year…26 more to go.

I thought by this point I would feel the halfway point or the down hill slide or some sort of beginning to the end but as I sit here tonight I feel none of that.  With my recent medication change, I feel more like I am almost starting over again.

Even with being on point last week, even during a holiday…. I still gained a freakin’ pound.

Like I said…almost like starting over…because the truth I have to admit is only gaining a pound is progress in the right direction.  I have been on the new Armour Thyroid dose for almost two weeks so maybe the tide is beginning to turn back the other direction.

On Friday, I scored a Body Champ BRM2610 Dual Trainer for $35 and a Red DX Fitness Chair for $15 at a thrift store!

Woot, woot!

I can only manage three minutes on the Body Champ comfortably.  Pushing to five minutes has me about crawling out of my skin so that’s a bit of a bummer.

As a stand-up elliptical, I can only do about 45 seconds at a time

Using it as a bike is even more gentle on my knees, gentler than a stationary bike.

I am only able to use the moving arm handles about 90 seconds at a time in bike position and not at all in the stand-up position.

The Red DX.  Honestly, when I bought it I wasn’t too sure about it but I really like the fact that it’s a seat, almost chair height, rather than some contraption I have to go all the way to the floor to use…like the $15 rowing machine I bought from the same thrift store almost a year ago but have hardly used.  I can do about two minutes on it.

But…

You have to start somewhere.

This is where most people with fibromyalgia and other chronic diseases fail…they think the only way to workout is 30 minutes, three times a week.

Kiddos, here’s the truth…

Unless, you are super fit right now…not before you got sick…right…freaking…now…I already know you cannot do 30 x 3 without flaring yourself.

Know it!

Our bodies don’t work that way anymore.

As someone who is desperate to become a fully accredited personal trainer and fitness coach, believe me…PLEASE…You just cannot do it and if you try you are setting yourself up to fail.

Getting through the traditional fitness wisdom, is tough!!!!  When I first started, it probably took me 5ish months to wrap my head around it before I ever started trying to be okay with 3-5 minutes.

Five months of mental workouts, people!!!!

Just using these machines for those times and only twice since Friday has woken up my fibro but it’s more like it’s laying there with one eye open trying to figure out what’s coming next rather than a whole lot of pain or a full-on flare.  I mean I feel it but I don’t FEEL it, feel it.  It is NOT because I’m totally out of shape but because I am working different muscles than normal so they need to stand up and be counted.

This also ends the “Yes, I am…No, I’m not” argument I have been having with myself about joining a gym…at least for now.  When I joined one a couple of years ago, I was ready to be there.  I think that’s what’s holding me back now…I know I’m not quite ready.  Besides, for $50 it gives me a couple of months to argue with myself some more without ‘wasting’ a gym membership I’m not quite ready for while using the new equipment.

At least that’s the plan for now…

Leave a Reply

