Week 38–Whoa!

Once in a while there comes a long a moment.  It is not just any moment, however.  This is one of those moments when you instantly recognize it as special, unique, and significant.  Then even rarer is the moment that makes you go, “Whoa!”

I had a “Whoa!” moment this week.

But, I am not sharing exactly what it is just yet.

I know!  I know!  I’m mean for saying anything at all.

But, the point I want to make about the “Whoa!” moment is…So many times we trudging through our lives wondering what the hell we are doing.  We wonder if all the little things are ever going to amount to anything–big or otherwise–or if we are just doing them because we want to, feel we have to, or some notion of needing to suffer while paying our dues.

We search for meaning in the small moments because we tend to never get smacked upside the head by one of them in the way a “Whoa!” moment does.

Here’s the thing.  Everyone wants a “Whoa!” moment…but “Whoa!” moments only live on the path of little things.

Time.

Consistency.

Dedication.

Determination.

Practice.

And a whole lot of patience are the trail markers on the path of “Whoa!”

If we are not exercising all the little things, we lull ourselves into a false sense of woe.

We complain and conclude we must be unworthy of, “Whoa!” so we feel woe.  Worse we settle for less than we want out of life.

Of course, this also applies to weight and health.

My son looked at my desk yesterday and said, “I hate that you have to take so many pills.”

His comment shocked me.

I do have a lot of bottles on my desk.

Two prescription bottles because my dorky body likes an odd number of milligrams when it comes to thyroid medication.  The other five bottles are vitamins.

“Oh baby never be sad about those…they are mostly vitamins.  I never mind taking vitamins because I know they help my body be stronger.  They are one of the little things I do to keep myself healthy.  They’re good for me.”

Wait…

A little thing.

Vitamins are such a little thing.  Not just as a pill to swallow but for real.  The physical amount our bodies need for optimum health of each one is so tiny our kitchen measuring spoons would be too large.  And yet, just this week alone I have seen at least four people complain about their need to make sure their bodies have enough of these health-giving compounds.

Everyone wants the “Whoa!” moments of health but if they have to do anything to help themselves they woe all all about it.

Guess what?

My, “Whoa!” moment happened because–at least in part–of my willingness to take my vitamins as one of the little things I do to help my body avoid so much pain and woe.

But I have to fess up…because that is what this year is all about…

I am not doing all the little things I know I should be doing.

It’s 11 a.m. in my world and I haven’t eaten breakfast.  I have been up since 8:45 a.m. so for me this is crossing the line into my well-established, well-known personal danger zone.

If I know it’s dangerous, why am I letting it happen?

I got nuttin’

At least nothing credible and not a line of BS.

I have also let myself teeter on the edge of dehydration at least three days this week.

Again, I don’t have a good, credible reason.  My desk is maybe eight steps away from the kitchen sink.  That’s mostly laziness and apathy right there but a tiny bit of losing my focus in the throes of the “Whoa!” moment.

I haven’t used my exercise bike and I have only taken one walk.

Okay here’s where I do have something valid–okay mostly valid–my exercise bike is still outside.  If I could pick it up by myself it would have been in the house already.  Yes, I’ve asked the hubs…repeatedly.  As for taking additional walks, well I don’t really have anything valid there either other than on at least three of the days my mornings were awful and the evenings were still over 100 degrees at dusk.  I could use it outside…but…umm, no…and yes I recognize my no is a good amount of BS.

The truth is: I can do better.

The truth is: For this “Whoa!” moment to stay “Whoa!” and not woe, I have to do better.

The truth is:  If I decide I’ve “made it” so now I can relax, not only am I lying to myself but I am not being accountable to my body and my dreams.

The truth is:  Sometimes “Whoa!” has another meaning, “Stop”…Stop and take a moment to make sure you have not let go of the little things.  The path is there for a reason.  It might be tempting to wander off in the field but the path has lessons for you and you have to be willing to learn them.

IMG_8599

This is the Campground Trail at Cedar Breaks National Monument.

2 thoughts on “Week 38–Whoa!

Leave a Reply

