Week 40–Aha! DOH! Aha!

*****NOTE:  This WAS written LAST WEEK…But I managed to fail to actually publish it.
To say that I have been dragging lately would be an understatement.  It has been incredibly easy to blame it on moving.  Truthfully some of it has been.  Moving is stressful on a body under attack.  However, I could not shake the feeling there was something more, something missing.  My idiopathic peripheral neuropathy symptoms had also come back with a vengeance.
I am incredibly grateful this journey I have been on has really taught me to not only check-in with my body but to respond to those little inspirational twinges of, “Is it this?” and to put those flashes into action.

Earlier this week it finally hit me…I have stopped using my non-denatured whey protein supplements.

What does that have to do with anything?

Oh my gosh, I am so glad you asked!!!

Non-denatured whey is the very best source of glutathione.

What the heck is glutathione?
Glutathione is a protein naturally produced in the body but it is also the lead antioxidant and is what actually turns on your energy levels at the cellular level, supports your immune system, detoxes, the liver and keeps chronic inflammation at bay.
It’s also currently being researched in dozens of CFS, Lyme, and fibromyalgia studies with positive results.  One of the drawbacks is it is taking around six months of supplementation to reach full therapeutic value.  Some researchers report patients are, unfortunately, balking at the length of the protocol.
Let me pull out my soapbox…
Improving–not curing–fibromyalgia (or any medical condition) is an extremely long process.  Not only is it long but if you absentmindedly stop doing any of the good things you have found yield your body positive results your symptoms return nearly immediately.  If you want to feel better, you have to be willing to put in the work.  It is truly unfortunate that we live in a “this pill will make it all better” world of medicine because too many people, not just those with fibro, have become conditioned to look for pills rather than changes to their personal habits including diet to help their bodies manage their symptoms.
I didn’t stop using whey on purpose…it just happened as we moved…so the move wasn’t the problem (okay, it was some of the problem but that was two months ago).
Here’s one of the truths I have become so fond of telling….
I stopped giving my body what in needs to keep my energy cycle working at peak levels so the physical and emotional stress to my body has lingered and I haven’t felt like I ever recovered.
Fibro didn’t do it…I did.  Fibro responded. Simple as that.
I am grateful I know the difference.
I have actually been using whey protein for years and years before fibromyalgia happened so I was not fully depleted again.  After my third smoothie, it felt as if a heavy blanket weighed down with symptoms was being pulled off of me.
Glutathione!!!!!!!
Aha!!!!
(And, I also lost two pounds this week!)
Tropical Bliss Smoothie--pineapple, banana, coconut milk, and whey

Tropical Bliss Smoothie–pineapple, banana, coconut milk, and whey

Leave a Reply

