July Goals?

A few weeks ago I joined several Facebook support groups.  I just felt, and feel, like I need to be connected to other weight loss surgery people right now.  Where I am not close enough to my surgeon’s office to attend the support group, I figured this is the next best thing.

Today, one of the group leaders posted:

“What are you July goals?”

My answer was:

“To forget June ever happened.”

Mentally, physically, emotionally…June was just a big, ol’ huge vat of disappointment and frustration…and s-l-o-w weight loss.

How slow?

Slow enough it was my pre-op normal.

Yes, I have let the irony of me being flustered by losing at my pre-op rate sink all the way through my consciousness.

And, do you know what conclusion I arrived at?

My pre-op body and my post-op body are definitely not the same so I need to stop marking my journey now with those outdated signposts.

The truth is…Right now my body is NOT optimized.

Period.

No fussing.  No whining.  No rationalization.

And, it’s July now so how much longer am I going to be circling the drain about what a disappointment June was?

So am I okay with my glibly made goal to erase June from memory?

Uhh, noooooooooooooo.

Here’s my July goal:

20-25g of fiber daily

That’s it.

My new multivitamin pill is not being kind to my system so I need to make sure I am doing everything I can to keep my system running smoothly.

Not being able to buy my vitamin patches is one problem that is only exacerbated by not consuming enough fiber.

Besides, I am at the point where I have a really good handle on everything else except fiber.  When I scroll back through my food journal and when I am honest with myself, it is the one area I, as the controller of all things which enter my body, have slacked on.

Oh I can bitch about my supplement delivery method all I want but until I take accountability for consuming enough fiber I am not doing my body–or my attitude–any favors.

I am just complaining.

That is not me.

I am a woman of action.

That is my truth…and I am grateful a support group leader posed the question so I could knock some sense back into myself.

Sure, it feels lame to count fiber grams but it is always better than feeling gross and bloated because my plumbing isn’t up to plumb.

Pity party over.

Time to get back to me.IMG_8209

 

 

7 thoughts on “July Goals?

    • Hi Nick! Thanks for reading and commenting! I’m not a strict keto eater but I’m definitely on the LC/LIHF bandwagon. I have autoimmune disease and fibromyalgia and have found much healing and disease management through diet changes including embracing fat. In fact, I lowered my barely high cholesterol SIXTY POINTS by simply switching the type and amount of fat I was eating. I rather enjoyed watching my doctor’s face fall when I told him how I did it…lol It’s taken me years to embrace fat but the truth is it is necessary for proper body functions whereas carbs are not and now that I’ve wrapped my head around it I much prefer my full fat coconut milk to just about anything thank you very much 🙂

  1. Here’s to a fantastic July. I think you have a great goal for the month and know your body well. I’ll be excited to read next month what foods and supplements etc you used to get in your fiber so I can give that a shot too. 🙂

    • Thanks Michelle!!! Yesterday I started thinking about a mid-month update post so I don’t forget what’s working, what isn’t, and how I’m adjusting…lol I will say after just two days I know two things: It’s hard. It’s worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

