August Goals: Be The Moon

My August plan is rather simple: Be The Moon.

No, I’m not sleep deprived.

Wait, yes I am but I thought of this before I woke up at 2 a.m.  So ppbbbttt!

Be the moon?  What does that mean?

The moon seems so mystical and mysterious but she’s really not.  She hangs out in the sky doing her job.  She orbits the Earth and in doing so she pulls the tides.  Her consistency is so predictable you can time her efforts.  The moon is never frittering around with things that don’t matter.  She knows her place in the Universe and she does her job.  Simple.

Be the moon!!!  I can do that.  I know the work.  I know I can do it.

Here’s how I am going to be the moon…

Liquids, minimum 80oz
Protein, minimum 70g
Fiber, minimum 20g
Supplements, daily
Prescriptions, daily
Movement, daily

That’s my job as a post-op weight loss surgery patient anyway, right?  Yes, right!

If I just produce my average results, I could hit 199.9 by the end of August.

But…199.9 is not my goal.

My goal is to be consistent.  Like the moon.

When I do it, goals are crushed.

That damned ol’ scale will fall but I don’t need to arrive at the end of the month at the same time as a particular number.  The number will happen…as long as I am consistent so the more predictable and moon-like I become the faster I’ll get to see it.  It’s not a race, however, it’s a commitment to doing all the little things.

Excuse me while I put myself into orbit…

4 thoughts on “August Goals: Be The Moon

  1. I love this idea… consistency! It’s so key and it’s always a part of “diets” and “lifestyle changes” that I tend to fail at. Ok – crash and burn at. I’m great at the beginning – totally gung ho! – but after 6 months.. a year.. I start being really inconsistent. So this is a good reminder for me too (so thank you!!) that consistency should be the focus and that, yes, as a WLS patient I signed on for certain responsibilities and I need to consistently meet those (water, protein, supplements, movement, etc). Gonna put this at the forefront of my August too: Be consistent!! 🙂

    • Awww…I’m so glad!!!! For what it’s worth I ended up “failing” fiber and my goal to have half my liquids be plain water, and sleep though technically not part of my goals…with very good reason too…second day of being up at 2 a.m. for no good reason at all….grrrrr…But here’s the thing I could throw a fit that I couldn’t manage it all for just one day–one very weird, off my/our routine day–or I can say “I did the best I could under the circumstances” and move on. But even then I have to remind myself I could have ordered the salad at lunch…not beating myself up…just reminding myself I contemplated it but chose against it in favor of BACON…not that bacon’s a good excuse but it’s Arby’s brown sugar bacon and so I decided, in the moment, I loved it more than I love fiber…we don’t regularly eat there, we were out running around, my turkey bacon sandwich was 28g protein (no bread)…not justifying it because my body doesn’t understand bacon is not fiber so it might make me “pay” for my choice later but just reminding myself: Goals are crushed by choices so choose carefully and I did stand there in line debating carefully…bacon…iceberg…bacon…iceberg…BA-CON!!!!!!! LOL

    • Awww thanks Julie! That’s what I felt I needed….something I could see as a symbol…I’m really visual anyway…working so far…”Be the moon” I keep closing my eyes and seeing the moon as I say it.

Leave a Reply

